

# KEYSTONE ENERGY BOARD

For more than 25 years, the Keystone Energy Board has provided a unique forum for leaders to discuss timely energy and environmental issues; explore opportunities for improved policymaking in the public and private sectors; and share perspectives with fellow leaders working in critical areas.

### **MISSION**

The Energy Board's mission is to foster critical thinking on the interplay between energy, environmental, and economic policy in an off-the-record, non-attributable setting.

## **VALUE**

When asked why they participate in the Energy Board, members consistently state three key attributes that make membership valuable:

- A unique diversity of perspectives on issues that members face daily in their own organizations.
- The opportunity to leave behind individual agendas and positioning and have unique off-the-record discussions about tough issues.
- The benefit of developing meaningful relationships with other key players in the energy arena.

# **STRUCTURE**

The Energy Board is composed of about 50 individuals representing varied perspectives on energy and climate policy from the industry, technology, environment, consumer advocacy, and state and federal government arenas. Membership is by invitation only (see reverse for a complete list of members) and meetings take place three times a year.

## **TOPICS**

Energy Board discussions reflect the interests of members. Recent topics include:

- Human, environmental, & geopolitical impacts of energy supply chains
- The relationship between American Indian tribes & energy companies
- The hope & the hype related to commitments of 100% renewable energy

Since I focus more on environment than energy, it's really interesting to get a better understanding of energy issues from the perspective of those who operate primarily in the energy industry because of the close links between energy and environment. It's also refreshing and uplifting to be in a room with people who still believe that sharing different perspectives can lead to good policy.

- Former EPA official

We face challenges in the next several decades when it comes to the future of transportation, energy, and the environment. In these complex times, Energy Board meetings offer smart reflections on essential topics, and, perhaps more importantly, a rich and diverse network of energy and climate experts.

- Mitch Jackson, Chief Sustainability Officer, FedEx In work with Keystone, I have seen firsthand the impact that inclusion and collaboration have on actionable, shared solutions to our toughest policy challenges. The Energy Board helps me connect San Antonio's unique opportunities and challenges to the national and international energy policy landscape. I always leave our rich exchanges energized and ready to apply a fresh, creative lens to my everyday work.

- Former municipal utility CEO

For more information, contact Energy Board Director Mallory Huggins at <a href="mailto:mhuggins@keystone.org">mhuggins@keystone.org</a>

### **KEYSTONE ENERGY BOARD MEMBERS (as of August 2024)**

Sarah Adair

Managing Director, Public Policy Duke Energy

Jason Albritton

North America Climate Mitigation Program Director The Nature Conservancy

Doug Arent \*

Executive Director, Strategic Public-Private Partnerships National Renewable Energy Laboratory

**Chris Ayers** 

Executive Director N.C. Public Utilities Commission-Public Staff

Michelle Bloodworth

President and CEO American Coalition for Clean Coal Electricity

Robert Brenner \*

President Brenner Strategies

**Chuck Carr Brown** 

Senior Vice President Gulf Engineers and Consultants

Adrienne Clair

Partner

Thompson Coburn LLP

**Christina Cody** 

Investment Analyst Baillie Gifford

**Terry Craig** 

Trustee

Keystone Policy Center

Shelley Fidler \*

Principal Van Ness Feldman

Emily Fisher \*

Chief Strategy Officer Smart Electric Power Alliance Paula Gold-Williams

Chair

**Keystone Board of Trustees** 

Caroline Golin \*

Global Head, Energy Market Development and Policy Google Inc.

**Bruce Harris** 

VP, Federal Government Affairs Wal-Mart Stores. Inc.

Tom Hassenboehler

Partner COEFFICIENT

**Duane Highley** 

CEO

Tri-State Generation and Transmission

Brandon J. Hofmeister

Senior VP, Sustainability and External Affairs CMS Energy

Jessica Hogle

VP, Federal Affairs Tennessee Valley Authority

Melissa Horton

Senior Director, Government Affairs Southern Company

Mitch Jackson

(Retired)
Chief Sustainab

Chief Sustainability Officer FedEx

Travis Kavulla

VP, Regulatory Affairs NRG

Kit Kennedy

Managing Director, Power Sector Climate and Energy Program NRDC

Rick Kessler

Senior Advisor, Office of Land and Emergency Management U.S. EPA **Kevin Klustner** 

(Retired)

Former Executive Director, Center for Advanced Materials and Clean Energy Technologies, University of Washington

Stuart Levenbach

Executive, Global Policy & Funding Solutions
Baker Hughes

Jane Lewis-Raymond \*

Principal

Hilltop Strategies

Jeff Lyng

Vice President of Energy and Sustainability Policy Xcel Energy

**Mary Martin** 

Chief Counsel, Energy and Environment U.S. House Energy and Commerce Committee

Yvonne McIntyre \*

VP, Federal Affairs PG&E Corporation

Niko McMurray

Managing Director, International and Nuclear Policy ClearPath

Michael Moody

President

National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates

Alex Perera

Deputy Director, Global Energy Program World Resources Institute

Shanna Ramirez

Chief LEO and General Counsel CPS Energy

Lorie Schmidt

Partner Massie Partners Conrad Schneider

Senior Director Clean Air Task Force

Rob Schwartz

President and CEO Anterix

Doug Scott (Board Co-Chair) \*

Chair

Illinois Commerce Commission

Sue Sheridan \*

Principal

Sheridan Energy & Environmental Consulting

C. Kyle Simpson

Principal

KSE Holdings LLC

**Todd Snitchler** 

President and CEO Electric Power Supply Association

Julia Souder

Executive Director LDES Council

David Springe \*

Executive Director National Association of State Utility Consumer Advocates

Susan Tierney

Senior Advisor Analysis Group

Laura Vaught

Vice President, Federal Affairs Dominion Energy

Clinton A. Vince \*

Chair, U.S. Energy Practice Dentons US LLP

**Greg White** 

Executive Director NARUC

**Tuley Wright** 

Democratic Staff Director, Subcommittee on Energy, Climate and Grid Security U.S. House Energy and Commerce Committee